Atiku Abubakar Wins PDP Presidential Ticket, Emerges 2023 Candidate 


Former Vice President Atiku Abubakar has emerged victorious at the presidential primary election of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) by polling the highest votes.

Atiku defeated all other aspirants with a wide margin to emerge the winner of Saturday’s primary election held at the Moshood Abiola National Stadium in Abuja.

Learn More

Atiku will now be the official candidate of the PDP for the 2023 presidential election in Nigeria.

The Chairman of the PDP electoral committee for the primaries, David Mark, announced Atiku as the winner of the primary election.

Crisis Hits APC NWC As National Vice Chairman Accuses Adamu Abdullahi Of Failure

Fresh crisis is threatening to engulf the National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) barely two months after its inauguration.

The crisis is brewing amidst back and forth over the governing party’s failure to screen its presidential aspirants and conduct its national convention to elect its presidential candidate.

Senator Abdullahi Adamu, the party’s national chairman, has been accused of refusing to act on critical matters.

The accusation was made by a member of the NWC and National Vice Chairman, Northwest, Malam Salihu Moh. Mustaph, who is reportedly loyal to Governor Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna State.

Top PDP Aspirant Withdraws From Presidential Race, Gives Reason

A presidential aspirant of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Mohammed Hayatu-Deen, has pulled out from the race to succeed President Muhammadu Buhari.

Hayatu-Deen, a former managing director of the now-defunct FSB International Bank, announced his withdrawal in a letter addressed to Iyorchia Ayu, national chairman of the PDP.

He stated that he withdrew from the race to be President because the contest has been “obscenely monetised”.

Hayatu-Deen, however, promised to support whoever emerges as the party’s flag bearer for the 2023 election.

2023: PDP Denies Postponing Presidential Primaries

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Saturday debunked reports that it has postponed its presidential primary election scheduled for today.

The party denied reports about the alleged postponement in a statement by Debo Ologunagba, PDP national publicity secretary.

The main opposition party maintained that its Special National Convention is on course as scheduled.

The PDP also called on members and delegates to disregard news of its postponement.

Oshiomole Wins APC Edo North Senatorial Ticket

Former Governor of Edo State and former National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, Adams Oshiomole has won the Edo North senatorial ticket of the party for the forthcoming 2023 election.

Oshiomhole on Friday gathered 309 votes to pick the ticket, while his opponent, Sen. Francis Alimikhena, gathered five votes even though he had withdrawn from the contest.

The returning officer of the primary, Festus Ebia, while announcing the result said 317 delegates were accredited for the election, Oshiomole, scored 309, Alimikhena polled five votes while three votes were voided.

Ebia said, “Oshiomole having scored the majority votes of 309 and satisfied the requirement of the election is hereby declared the winner.”

Governor Ben Ayade Loses Cross River APC Senatorial Ticket

Governor Ben Ayade of Cross River State on Saturday lost his bid to move to the Senate after the end of his two-term.

Ayade’s tenure would expire on May 29, 2023.

Ayade who joined the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in 2021 and took part in the ruling party’s Senate primary in Calabar.

Ayade who scored 52 votes lost the election to Adams Cecelia who polled 140, while Martin Orim got 61 votes.

READ ALSO:  7 Simple Habits of Highly Healthy People

Lagos Senator Wins APC Senate Ticket In Ogun

Lagos West Senator, Solomon Olamilekan Adeola, has won the All Progressives Congress (APC) ticket of Ogun West Senatorial district for the 2023 elections.

He was declared winner of the Ogun West senatorial primary election, which was held at Oronna hall, in Ilaro, defeating the incumbent senator from the region, Senator Tolu Odebiyi.

The election was held by the APC electoral panel, led by the Chairman, Dr. Dapo Odukoya.

Adeola resolve to leave Lagos and contest for a senatorial ticket in Ogun state had caused rancor in the Ogun west chapter of APC, as some members of the party failed to welcome him.

Orji Kalu Wins APC Senatorial Ticket Unopposed

The lawmaker representing Abia North Senatorial District and chief whip of the 9th Senate, Orji Uzor Kalu, won the ticket senatorial ticket of the All Progressives Congress.

Kalu gathered 777 votes to emerge unopposed after Barr Fabian Nwankwo stepped down from the race.

Chief Paul Onwuka, returning officer for the senatorial primary election declared him a winner in Ebem Ohafia the venue of the election on Saturday.

Kalu in his acceptance speech dedicated his victory to the people of the district and promised to attract more projects to the district.

Buhari’s Ex-aide, Bashir Ahmad Makes Fresh Demand After Heavy Defeat At APC Primaries

A former aide to President Muhammadu Buhari on new media, Bashir Ahmad has rejected the result of the House of Representatives primary election held for Gaya/Ajingi/Albasu constituency of Kano state.

Ahmad participated in the primary election but was comprehensively defeated at the polls.

The 30-year-old indigene of Kano State contested for the Albasu/Gaya/Ajingi Federal Constituency seat which is currently being occupied by a member of the ruling party, Abdullahi Mahmud Gaya but lost according to the results released on Friday.

The former presidential aide secured a total of 16 votes, while Gaya polled 109 votes.

Jubilation As Yari, Marafa Grab APC Senatorial Tickets In Zamfara

Former Zamfara State Governor, Abdulaziz Yari, and Senator Kabiru Garba Marafa won the All Progressives Congress (APC) senatorial tickets in the state’s primaries on Saturday.

The Zamfara State Governor Bello Mohammed Matawalle was present for the election, alongside party officials from the APC national headquarters, and the state executive, among others.

Yari ran unopposed in the election, which was held at his local government offices in Talata Mafara and was supervised by officials from the Independent National Electoral Commission and security services.

Senator Sahabi Yau won the Zamfara North ticket, while Marafa got the Zamfara Central ticket, in a simultaneous primary held in the three senatorial zones.

2023: PDP Presidential Aspirant Steps Down For Wike

A presidential aspirant under the Peoples Democratic Party, Nwachukwu Anakwenze has withdrawn from the presidential race for the Governor of Rivers State, Nyesom Wike.

Though the presidential screening committee led by former Senate President, David Mark had screened the US-trained Medical Doctor out of the race.

Anakwenze in his statement warned that if the party change the rule in the middle of the game, no decent competitor would stand a chance to compete fairly.

He disclosed that he withdrew from the race due to the decision of the party to throw its presidential ticket open despite the zoning principle enshrined in the party’s constitution.

We do everything possible to supply quality information for readers day in, day out and we are committed to keep doing this. Your kind donation will help our continuous research efforts.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here